Growing Friendships Through Technology

During my freshman year of high school, I joined a club called NPH, or Nuestros Pequños hermanos. This is an organization that works directly with an orphanage in Mexico. Through this club, I was able to sponsor a little boy, named Gabriel, who lives at the orphanage.

img_2987
Gabriel with all of the new clothes and gear he got.

During my freshman year, I had the opportunity to go down to the orphanage over spring break with the club and visit Gabriel. The trip was one of the greatest, most eye opening experiences that I ever had. I was able to see first hand the impact that I was making in these children’s lives. During this trip, my view of life changed, and it was all because of the children that I had met.

The children at the orphanage are so giving and always happy. Although they have close to nothing, they are 100% the happiest children that I have ever met, and it was an honor to be able to go to their home and live with them for a week.

While I was in Mexico for a week, I met a lot of other children besides Gabriel. Two other kids that I met there who I became good friends with are named Pepe and Miguel. After coming home, I still wanted to keep my connections with the people I had met because they had such a big impact on my life. I was fortunate enough that, through Facebook, we were able to stay connected with each other over the years.

Through technology, I was able to keep in touch with my friends over the years. Out of the three of them, Gabriel was the only one who was not allowed to have a Facebook because he was so young. The only way I was able to talk to him was through letter writing. This was a long process, and the letters would take months to send because they had to translate them. Being connected to Miguel and Pepe made it easier and quicker to talk to Gabriel.

img_3072
Church near where we stayed in Mexico.

It was not until my senior year in high school when I was able to go on the trip again. Even though I had not seen my friends for about three years, it didn’t seem that way because I had communication with them through technology.

I do not think that all online relationships are bad. In my case, I am able to stay connected with people who live in a different country. We do not talk as often as we used to, but I know that, through technology, I still have that connection. I am very happy that I live in a time where I am able to communicate with people this easily.

I am especially grateful for this form of communication because, since they are living in an orphanage, it is not easy to go and visit them, and they cannot come here. In order to go to the orphanage, one must go through background checks, and, even if these background checks leave you no restriction, there are still only certain days of the year you are allowed to visit.

Overall I am very thankful that technology allows me to keep contact with my friends in Mexico.

Leave a Reply

